Channels FAQ

This FAQ is about Telegram channels.
Back to the main FAQ »


Q: What's a channel?

Channels are a tool for broadcasting public messages to large audiences. In fact, channels can have an unlimited number of members. When you post in a channel, the message is signed with the channel's name and not yours. You can appoint additional administrators to help you manage the channel. Unlike in groups, deleted posts will disappear for everyone, not just you. New members can see the entire message history in a channel once they join.

If you'd like an example, join our official Telegram channel to get notified about our updates.

To create a channel:
iPhone: Start a new message (tap the icon in the top-right corner in Chats). Then ‘New Channel’.
Android: Tap the circular pencil icon in the chats list. Then ‘New Channel’.
Windows Phone: Tap the ‘+’ button on the bottom bar. Then ‘New Channel’.

Q: How are public and private channels different?

Public channels have a username. Anyone can find them in Telegram search and join. Private channels are closed societies – you need to be added by the creator or get an invite link to join.

Please note that private channels with publicly available invite links will be treated in the same way as public channels, should it come to content disputes.

Q: What can administrators do?

The creator of a channel can broadcast messages, delete any messages, add members (the first 200 only), remove members, change the channel's name, profile image and link, as well as delete the channel completely. The creator can also add and remove administators to help manage the channel.

Administrators have limited rights: they can broadcast messages, remove their own messages and remove any members.

Q: What happens if I delete a message?

Unlike in groups, if a message is deleted in a channel, it will disappear for all members. This also works in supergroups.

Q: How do I add people to my channel?

As the channel‘s creator, you may invite the first 200 members to your channel. Once the member count reaches 200, the channel is on its own. If it’s a public channel, it will have a username and a telegram.me/ link (e.g. telegram.me/telegram) – you can post this link on social networks, advertise it in magazines, or tattoo it on your back. If you have a private channel, you can send its invite link to your friends.

Please do not send channel links (or other unsolicited messages) to strangers. If they report spam from your account, you may be banned from contacting other people, however good your intentions.

Q: What does the eye icon mean?

Each post in a channel has a view counter. Views from forwarded copies of your messages are also included in the total count. This way you can see how far it has spread. Please note that these numbers are approximate — views from one person can be counted several times

Q: How do I know who posted a message?

There is currently no way to know whether a message was posted by the creator or one of the administrators.

Q: Are there any feedback options?

Nope, not at the moment, sorry. We may add a few things to help this in the future.